Re-Enactment of the Famous 1913 Oireachtas Photograph
at the Pillars of the Town Hall Theatre

Saturday 18 June at 1pm / Procession departs Spanish Arch at 1pm, followed by photo re-enactment at the Town Hall Theatre at 1.30pm
A living tableau/recreation of the famous photo of the attendees of the Conradh na Gaeilge Oireachtas of 1913 will be re-enacted at the pillars of the Town Hall Theatre. The original photo includes 1916 Rebellion leaders Padraig H. Pearse, Seán Mac Diarmada, Tomas McDonagh and Éamonn Ceannt as well as three future presidents of Ireland, Douglas Hyde, Seán T. Ó Ceallaigh and Eamon DeValera. The event will include a parade from the Galway City Museum to the Town Hall Theatre of the 160 people dressed in character led by the Ullapool Pipe Band (Scotland) and St. Patrick’s Brass Band. The latter led the Oireachtas parade in 1913 and are also celebrating their 120th Anniversary this year. This will be followed by the unveiling of a plaque to the great piper Martin Reilly in Woodquay.

Related Categories

, ,

Town Hall Theatre